How to Recognize Stages of Dementia 11/11

As our loved one’s age, it’s crucial to be aware of the signs and symptoms of dementia. This degenerative disease can rob sufferers of their memories, their ability to communicate, and eventually, their very lives. Although there is no known cure for dementia, catching it early can help to slow its progression. Keep reading to learn how to recognize the stages of dementia.

In the early stages of dementia, there is usually no memory impairment evident. This is the time when the individual may not show any signs of being impaired and is often the time when the disease is most difficult to diagnose. The individual may be able to carry out most tasks and activities of daily living with little difficulty. Most people who are in this stage are usually functioning normally and are able to take care of themselves. However, family and friends may be the ones who begin to notice subtle changes in the individual’s behavior or functioning. As the disease progresses, signs of memory impairment will gradually start to show.


Stage 2: Slight Cognitive Decline

During the second stage of dementia, signs of mild cognitive decline also referred to as Age-Associated Memory Impairment, are common. These symptoms of dementia can include difficulty remembering recent events, names, and conversations. They may also experience decreased ability to think abstractly and plan ahead. The person’s mood and behavior may change as well.


While these signs may be concerning, it’s vital to remember that they do not always mean that someone is developing dementia. Many people experience some mild cognitive decline as they age, and there are often things they can do to help manage these symptoms.


If you’re experiencing any of these symptoms, it’s critical to talk to your doctor to determine whether they’re caused by dementia or some other health issue.


Stage 3: Mild Cognitive Impairment

Mild cognitive impairment (MCI) is a transitional stage between normal cognitive function and dementia. MCI affects memory, thinking, and judgment, but to a lesser degree than dementia. People with MCI often have difficulty with activities, such as balancing a checkbook, managing finances, or driving. They may also have trouble remembering recent events or recalling the names of people they know.


MCI is diagnosed when a person has mild problems with memory, thinking, or judgment that are greater than normal age-related changes but don’t interfere with daily activities. People with MCI are at risk for developing dementia, but not everyone with MCI will experience memory loss or other problems related to dementia.


MCI can be treated in much the same way as dementia. Treatment focuses on helping the person maintain their independence and function as well as possible. This may include strategies for memory improvement, help with finances and other practical tasks, and medications to improve mood and reduce the risk of dementia.


Stage 4: Moderate Cognitive Decline

In stage four of dementia, people experience a moderate decline in cognitive function. This decline may include difficulty with memory, problem-solving, and critical thinking. Additionally, they may have trouble communicating and may be less able to take care of themselves. In addition, they may have difficulty knowing where they are and what they are doing. This can lead to confusion and even episodes of wandering. Often, people in this stage require help with activities of daily living.


Stage 5: Severe Cognitive Decline


During the fifth stage of dementia, most people experience severe cognitive decline. This means that they experience a significant decline in their thinking ability and memory. In addition, they may also have problems with their language, judgment, and problem-solving skills. As a result, this stage can be quite challenging for both the individual and their loved ones.


They may have difficulty with simple tasks such as bathing, dressing, and grooming. They may also have trouble remembering things like the names of people they know or the events that occurred recently. They may also start to experience hallucinations or delusions.


Stage 6: Severe Dementia

The final stage of dementia is severe dementia. In severe dementia, the person’s physical and mental abilities decline immensely. They may lose the ability to walk, talk, eat, or drink. They may also become incontinent and experience changes in their personality or behavior. In the final stages of severe dementia, the person may become completely unaware of their surroundings and may not be able to recognize family or friends.


Recognizing the Stages Of Dementia

Dementia is a serious condition that can significantly impact the lives of both the individual with the condition and their loved ones. It’s crucial to recognize the stages of dementia to provide the appropriate level of support. So, if you notice any of the symptoms we’ve covered above, consult with a doctor as soon as possible.